top of page
Search

The Corona Virus and How it's Affected my Exchange

The Corona virus has drastically effected all of our lives recently, it was certainly an interesting time to be on exchange.


As of now, school is out here in Finland and the effects of corona have pretty much worn off, but I will share some of my experiences from the last couple months.


Like students back home, we also had all our classes online. I think it was for about 2 months or a little more. It was really strange and kind of sad that it happened on my exchange. I have always been told that exchange was about making connections and spending time with people and without the social aspect of school, exchange seemed a bit pointless.


But that quickly faded away, because I kept in contact with the friends I had already made. Also, quarantine has never been as bad here in Parkano as it has been at home, other areas of Europe or even Finland. One of the perks of living in a smaller town. Because of that I still got to see my friends on weekends and such which was really nice. If my memory is correct, I don't think there's been a case of corona in Parkano (if any people from Parkano see this and know it's wrong please correct me).


Just as corona started as well I moved to the center of Parkano so I could to walk places and see people easier. It was quite the change from living in Kihniö which is even smaller than Parkano and mostly just forest and lakes.


I can hear my dad's voice telling me to keep this short and sweet so I can get you some new content so I'll attach some photos and call it a wrap!



Here are some of the pretty photos I got of the scenery



The first photo is me and my current host sisters (Vilma and Sanni)

The second photo is a photo I took of my friends while we were on a trip to Tampere (Peruna, Márton, and Roosa)

The final photo is of Márton and me while I look like I'm about to kill him. 10/10


Lastly here's me at an actual sign found here in Parkano. I don't know why they decided to go with that slogan but I think it's hilarious.



That's all for now!




77 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page